Admitted audio newbie doing first aftermarket install - Help Appreciated!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ryanh129

Reaction score
Ok,

UPDATED AFTER MY TRIAL AND ERROR EXPERIENCE LAST NIGHT

So I am going to attempt to do an amp and sub install myself to save some money. I know I could pay someone like $100 and they would do it for me, but I also want to begin to learn how to do this. I am a major newbie when it comes to audio installs so feel free to make fun of me:D

Here is what I have:

05 Yukon with Bose Sound Sytem

Items to Install:

500 Watt Bazooka Amp (I know I know...crappy)
2 - 10" Pioneer Subs in box (Again, I know, but I got it all for $30)

I've been doing some research and I know that I need to by a 2 Channel LOC and connect it to my stock sub wires (underneath cup holders), plug in the RCA's from the amp, hook the amp up to my battery (through firewall) and ground it, then run the speaker wires from the amp to the subs. In essence, is this correct? If not, let me know where I'm an idiot.

I also have a few dumb questions:

I wired up what I thought was the remote wire but even with the key off the end of the wire would spark? I'm guessing this isn't the correct wire? It was the orange wire that ran where the other sub wires were running?

Having trouble grounding the amp...I attached it to a bolt on the body of my car in the engine bay but when I connected the positive terminal is shot a big spark out of the ground? Any ideas?

Thanks,

Last edited:

tast101

Full Access Member
Reaction score