Electronic Brake Control Module Problem?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tifferanknee

Reaction score
Hey, newbie here... I purchased a 2001 Tahoe LT a month ago.

I've been looking around to see if I could find some info about this, but I haven't had much luck. I had a very stressful weekend, after having a blowout on a practically brand new tire. I had to use my spare tire, which was a factory 16", the truck has 18's. But anyways, I arrived at work today to hear some odd sounds coming from underneath my truck. I wasn't sure what it was, it sounded like a motor running, but it wasn't coming from under my hood. I was thinking that maybe it had to do with my shocks, since I had the one 16" and the three 18" wheels on, I kept looking until I figured out that it was coming from a little box right under the truck, underneath the driver side seat. We unplugged a cable from it, going to the battery/fuse box and it stopped the motor. I wasn't sure what was going on with it, so I called the local dealership to explain what I was hearing and asked what was up with it. He told me he couldn't tell me for sure what it was without listening, but what I was explaining to him sounded to be the ABS Electronic Brake Control Module(the ABS & the Traction Off lights will not go off), priced at $875.00 uninstalled. :ack:

So my question is, has anyone ever had this problem? Ever had to have it replaced? Do you have any suggestions on what to do?

JKmotorsports

tahoeyukonforum.com
Reaction score