Can I do the Magnaflow install on my own?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mikew2069

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well, I finally got my Magnaflow catback in and now I'm second guessing my ability to do the install. I've never done an exhaust install before and really thought I could do this until I realized that I have to make a cut on the original exhaust. I don't even think I have anything that would cut through the original pipes.... What do you guys think?

73shark

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just put my GM perf catback on and it took two hours. You will need a sawzall, chain style pipe cutter, or cutting torch because you have to cut the factory exhaust somewhere behind the muffler and ahead of about half way up the kickup over the rear axle. Any farther back and you can't get the muffler part out. I don't know if it is possible to remove intact if you have it up on a lift. I doubt it is. You'll need a good rust penetrant like Kroil to soak the two nuts off. Since they are on headless bolts, you want to make sure you don't twist the bolt out of the knurled portion of the flange. If you do, then you'll have to cut them out. GM provided two bolts and nuts in case that happens. Also bought a special tool to remove the hangers from the rubber links. You have to drop spare and remove the heat shield. The Corsa website has a set of install instructions for their system.

mikew2069

Full Access Member
Reaction score
THANK YOU for the referal to the Corsa site.... The directions that were sent w/ the Magnaflow system weren't even close to detailed like the Corsa's directions. The Magnaflow basically says, "take the stock system off, and put the new sytem on." But now I think I can tackle it.