anyone use their Tahoe as work vehicle?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bobbyg123

Reaction score
As I said in a previous thread, my wife and I had twins 8 months ago and I'm going to need to upsize my vehicle. I'm an outside salesman and drive between 15-20K miles/year, so my basic question is how comfortable (and durable) do you think the Tahoe would be for extended use? We live in the Greater Seattle area, and the more I think about it, the Tahoe would be a nearly ideal vehicle for me.

I want a large 4x4 vehicle that has the ability to pull a small to midsize trailer over a farily mild mountain pass

I want the option of occasionally seating 6-7 people when the grandparents are in the picture.

I want a safer vehicle than my current Infiniti G35 (which I love but is now WAY too small)

Most of all, I NEED the Tahoe to be a reliable work vehicle. I do mostly highway driving with minimal stop and go, so you'd think the rig would be well suited for me needs.

Thoughts?

doo600

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Sounds like it may be good for you except for carrying 6-7 people. The 3rd row is not comfortable for adults because it has no true footwell. If you need to fit adults back there I would recommend spending a few extra dollars and getting the suburban.

bobbyg123

Reaction score
Thanks guys

The mileage may not be good, but I'm not exactly driving a Prius right now. My Infiniti gets 22hwy and takes premium unleaded. I wouldn't be surprised that with my hwy driving coupled with the mild climate here if I couldn't average 17-18mpg.