1999 Tahoe Lift Questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rwilliams192

Reaction score
So first off Im new to lifting but Ive done a lot of reading on this forum for information. Ill start off by saying i have a 1999 OBS tahoe 4door 4wd, with 100,000miles on it. I was looking at a 6'' lift and was gonna go with either the pro comp or the Dick cepek.

Now I read if you lift the truck you need to regear. My question is, if i dont regear, how bad is it really for the truck/ transmission, cause i did just have the tranny rebuilt about a week ago. and about how much would it cost to regear both the front and rear?

Another question is i read somewhere that if i put a 6'' lift, i would need to replace the front drive shaft, is that true?

Also i was wondering, if i were to put a 4'' lift on it,would it still be as neccessary to regear?

Thanks for any help in advance, i was unable to find definite answers. and maybe when i get home and get a chance ill post a pic of my truck.

edit: heres a pic of my truck...

Attachments

• Tahoe 010.jpg
    Tahoe 010.jpg
    118.1 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:

SPXTrader

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I didn't regear after a Superlift kit. Speedo may be off a bit, but I'm not worried if that is all the problems there are.

I have bee going thru u-joints on an annual basis.

SPXTrader

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I put them in myself, so all I'm out is my time plus parts. I'll break two rears a year, so $75 or so.

rwilliams192

Reaction score
oh i see. how are they breaking, and why? and another question, have you noticed anything with the drum brakes, like wearing out faster or anything or did you upgrade to disc?

SPXTrader

Full Access Member
Reaction score