All terrain tire clearance question...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

SneakersO'toole

Reaction score
Hey guys, im new to the Tahoe forums and i've got a question.

I own a 1997 Chevrolet Tahoe 2dr 2wheel drive LS model...my current tire size is 235 /75-15 my question is if i buy an all terrain tire to fit my vehicle what is the largest tire in inches/width and such i can fit without having them rub?

im going to have my front end aligned and lifted slightly to where its even with my rear height of the truck...

let me know if you guys need any more information.

Thanks. :cya:

Crazydefense32

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im pretty sure you can run at least 30s on there without rub after the leveling kit, not sure about width though. If you are looking for tires go with Toyo Open Country A/T they are the BEST All terrain tires out there and will last you a LOOONG time! Good Luck, and welcome to the site! :Chevy:

jwpotts0413

Full Access Member
Reaction score
315 70 17 will fit and only rub slightly under full turn in reverse over a bump.

u will have to find some1 special to mount the tires if u have stock rims because the 315s are not supposed to go on a 7.5" wide rim. minimum is 8" for these tires. they will fit safely and pretty easily despite what most tire stores will tell u. try to talk them into it and keep asking around, some1 will mount them for u. they just don't want to get sued if u go slide into a tree stump and rip the tire off the rim causing your vehicle to flip and injure some1.

i suggest 285/70/17 if u want a little meatier than stock but absolutely no rubbing unless u completely bottom out the suspension. also, be sure u don't get 75 profile b/c is looks too tall IMO, and it will rub as opposed the the 70 profile.