2015 Tahoe turns off after 1 hr at idle

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Adam P

Reaction score
This is my first time posting on a forum, so I hope I'm doing this right. I bought my new 2015 Tahoe LT with the Z71 package last weekend. I love every damn thing about it. I just have one odd issue, and I don't know if it's something I'm going to have to live with or if there's a fix action that can correct it.

And now to the issue.......I usually take my dog with me when I go out, and he hangs out in my vehicle if I go in a store or something. On the hot days, I keep the engine running and the AC on for him (Yeah yeah, I know). My 2013 Durango R/T would stay running for hours and hours with the key fob out of the vehicle, but I've found over the past week that running at idle with the AC on low, the RKE (key fob) in my pocket away from the Tahoe, and the doors locked remotely that the Tahoe turns itself off after about an hour. I've timed the turn off and I've verified that it's not just overheating. I can't find anything in the manual about it shutting off for any reason other than overheating, and the Chevy Customer Service Lady I chatted with couldn't find any more info. Luckily, I'm stationed in Washington state right now and we usually only get a few really hot days out here, but I'm changing bases to a very hot part of the world soon.

I'd like to know if anybody out there knows anything about 2015 Tahoe's automatically turning off after a period of time with the RKE out of the vehicle. I need to figure out a solution for my dog for my next base, and I'd prefer the solution not be me having to go out to the Tahoe every hour to turn it off and on again to restart the countdown timer for the next turn off. I'd appreciate any info/help you folks could give.

Thanks,
AP

20Tahoe12LT

Full Access Member
Reaction score