Bose speaker replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

TheBart316

Reaction score
I am new to the tahoe world. I was trying to replace the bose speakers with some 6.5" aftermarket speakers i had in my previous vehicle. Upon removing the door panels, I found out that this was not going to be a simple task since the front speakers snap in and the rears are not 6.5".

I was just wondering if anyone had some pointers on the coversion of the front and rear speakers to aftermarket 6.5" speakers?

JKmotorsports

tahoeyukonforum.com
Reaction score
Both front and rear door speakers are GM's oversized 6.5" (which is really 6.75"). You can install almost any aftermarket 6.5" speakers with no problems. Most speakers will go in with no gaps around the spkr frame and will work great. As far as the "snap-in" stock style speakers go...all you have to do is use self-tapping screws to secure the new speakers.

tast101

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Both are 6.5" It may look like they may not but they both will fit, I just did mine recently. I had to mount the mounting plate to the door, first. Marked my holes and then drilled a pilot hole, screwed the plate down then screw the speaker to the mounting plate. Bam your done.

***Oh yeah In the rear, Theres a lil raise lip that holds the speaker in place, I just sanded it down to make it flat to make room for the speaker. You see what I'm talking about when you get the door off.

2561414237_e1b89b1413.jpg

2562222436_76ddd6c4d8.jpg

TheBart316

Reaction score
Thanks. The "lips" in the back were what were giving me fits. I think my aftermarkets my have some weird mounting brackets, too. I just have a slight fear of messing with the factory stuff in case I ever have to go back to it.

KillerB

Reaction score
...your thoughts about??

Well glad you asked....