Go Back   Tahoe Forum - Chevy Tahoe Forum > 2000 - 2006 Chevrolet Tahoe / GMC Yukon / Cadillac Escalade Year Models > Technical write ups & Installation Guides

Welcome to the Tahoe Forum - Chevy Tahoe Forum.
Register to remove these ads.


Technical write ups & Installation Guides This forum is designated to post technical "how to" install guides to assist others with modding thier Hoes



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2007, 11:30 AM   #1
Rwayne
Full Access Member
 
Rwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 207
Rwayne is on a distinguished road
Default How-to-wire amp&subs with Bose system?


Register to remove these ads. It's free!
Hey My 03 Yukon has the Blows system and the center console w/some lil girl sub underneath it. I've gotta get some bump in the truck asap cuz this bose stuff just don't cut it ... or even come near to cutin it!
So if someone has some info on installing a sub and amp in it let me know.TIA...I've installed systems myself in plenty of previous car and trucks with no problems, but I've heard that the bose system is a bit more complicated/tricky. Pictures would be awesome.. but any help is appreciated!
Rwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2007, 10:26 PM   #2
JKmotorsports
tahoeyukonforum.com
 
JKmotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ATX
Age: 40
Posts: 2,661
JKmotorsports is on a distinguished road
Default

This thread is going to describe the steps necessary to add RCA preouts for an aftermarket sub amp from the factory Bose system with factory stereo in 03-06 model trucks.

1. Remove the center console cup holder by pulling straight up. This piece is snapped into the rest of the console.

2. Below the cupholders in the center console, you will see a harness with a plug. In this harness will be the wires you will need to splice into for a line converter to your sub amp.

3. Locate the following wires (factory dual coil sub):
Lt. green/blk-------Left (-)
Dk blue/wht--------Left (+)
Dk green ----------Right (+)
Lt blue/blk---------Right (-)

4. Splice the appropriate wires from the line out converter to these wires.

5. Plug in the RCA cables, route them to your aftermarket amp, and replace cupholder.
JKmotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 10:30 AM   #3
Rwayne
Full Access Member
 
Rwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 207
Rwayne is on a distinguished road
grin Thanks! JK

Man I thought it was gonna be something a little more difficult.. But it actuallly sounds easier than any others, just because I don't need to get behind the dash!! Now I'm on the prowl for a system.. Where should I wire up my remote wire? any easy suggestions or should I just go with the fuse panel?
Rwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 10:28 PM   #4
MadMedwyn
Full Access Member
 
MadMedwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 352
MadMedwyn is on a distinguished road
Default

For a line-out converter, you will need an LOCX convertor. I use a soundgate one. They go for $25. Here's the site and product:

http://www.soundgate.com/index.php?r...&usereferrer=1

You can wire the remote wire with anything that only turns on when the car key is turned. I spliced my DVD remote wire, and soldered part of it to my amp remote. Works fine.
MadMedwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 10:33 PM   #5
FergHoe
Full Access Member
 
FergHoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: DFW/C-Stat TEXAS
Age: 25
Posts: 232
FergHoe is on a distinguished road
Default

You can get a line out converter at any local Wal-Mart for under $20. not the best in the world but....it will do.
FergHoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 11:15 AM   #6
Rwayne
Full Access Member
 
Rwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 207
Rwayne is on a distinguished road
Default

OH yeah, I didn't think about the dvd system having a remote wire! I like that I don't need to get behind the dash besides to pull the power wire through the firewall! This should be a super easy install! thanks for all the help
Rwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 03:01 PM   #7
MadMedwyn
Full Access Member
 
MadMedwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 352
MadMedwyn is on a distinguished road
Default

Yeah, and getting the power wire through the firewall is really easy. There's a perfect hole on the drivers side below the steering wheel, and I think some other wires go through there anyway. It's good because it's the same side as the battery is on. It's tough for me to remember where because I did my install a year ago, but you'll know it when you see it.
MadMedwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 10:44 AM   #8
Rwayne
Full Access Member
 
Rwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 207
Rwayne is on a distinguished road
Default

Hey thanks for all the input..
I'm probably gonna run my rca's up the passenger side of my truck and wire the power down the drivers side. The only thing I'm concerned about is the fact that all the dvd wires are ran up the drivers side and I'm wondering if the big gauge power will interfere at all with my video system.
Rwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2007, 01:41 PM   #9
smetz
Tahoeforum Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
smetz is on a distinguished road
Default pics of sub?

Does anyone have a pic of the factory sub?

Scott
smetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 09:01 PM   #10
MadMedwyn
Full Access Member
 
MadMedwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 352
MadMedwyn is on a distinguished road
Default


Register to remove these ads. It's free!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rwayne View Post
Hey thanks for all the input..
I'm probably gonna run my rca's up the passenger side of my truck and wire the power down the drivers side. The only thing I'm concerned about is the fact that all the dvd wires are ran up the drivers side and I'm wondering if the big gauge power will interfere at all with my video system.
I can't give an answer for that because I don't know where my DVD wires are ran. I just have an aftermarket system with the head unit in the center console and the monitor in the cieling.
MadMedwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



 
Advertisement

Other Sponsors






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All rights reserved and copyrighted
Fully Driven Auto Network
GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum