Go Back   Tahoe Forum - Chevy Tahoe Forum > 2000 - 2006 Chevrolet Tahoe / GMC Yukon / Cadillac Escalade Year Models > Technical Discussions

Welcome to the Tahoe Forum - Chevy Tahoe Forum.
Register to remove these ads.


Technical Discussions This forum is for technical discussions related to customizing your Tahoe/Yukon



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2007, 03:03 PM   #1
kgdecker
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
kgdecker is on a distinguished road
Default Broken Speedometer?


Register to remove these ads. It's free!
I have an 04 tahoe z71 and my speedometer is completely off, sometimes it will say i am going 60 MPH faster than i am, other times it doesnt work at all. Is there a speedometer cable for these tahoes or is it all electrical?

If the unit is defective do I have to buy a whole new guage cluster?
kgdecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 01:14 PM   #2
farmtech
Tahoeforum Noob
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
farmtech is on a distinguished road
Default

The Tahoe cluster is all electronic, I have a 03 with the same problem and have ordered a replacement gage motor in order to fix it. I will install it this week and see what happens. If I get mine fixed I already have 2 others lined up to fix as well. There are guys that fix them on eBay but they are too expensive for me. I will post back in a few days to let you know how it goes.

Nick
farmtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 09:25 PM   #3
farmtech
Tahoeforum Noob
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
farmtech is on a distinguished road
Default

I replaced my speedometer gage motor last night and it seems to work perfectly. It was a little involved but not too hard. If anyone is interested in having one fixed let me know, I am an electronics tech by trade so I do this type of thing every day.

Nick
farmtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 06:43 PM   #4
mbsullivan
Tahoeforum Noob
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
mbsullivan is on a distinguished road
The speedometer on my 2004 has given me problems. It showed speed that was much faster than I was going and stayed at around 30 mph when I was stopped and even when the engine was off. Knowing that it has an electronic speedo, I tried disconnecting the battery cable to see if that would reset it. This worked!! The problem did reoccur, but disconnecting and reconnecting the battery cable occasionally is better than hundreds for a repair.

Let me know if this works for you. Good luck.
mbsullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 11:42 PM   #5
farmtech
Tahoeforum Noob
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3
farmtech is on a distinguished road
Default

The cluster will "back up" the gage motors when starting up after the power has been off for a while or removed. This will reset the speedometer to zero or possibly just back it down towards zero a little. This is fine to reset the speedometer but it will probably "ratchet" back up while driving which may cause the speed to become inaccurate again. I have been fixing these for a while now and have not had any problems with any repairs. I will replace a motor for $100 if anyone is interested, just let me know. I also run repair auctions on eBay from time to time, just search for farmtech1.

Nick
farmtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 04:42 PM   #6
mjbradeis
Tahoeforum Apprentice Member
 
mjbradeis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Egg Harbor Twp, NJ
Posts: 16
mjbradeis is on a distinguished road
Default

When I bought my hoe ('04 Z71) the speedometer would just stop working, I was headed down the highway doing about 75 I look down, and the needle is headed to down. It is so weird to see it showing you doing 10 miles an hour. But any how I took it back to the dealer and they replaced the whole instrument cluster, and knock on wood no issues as of yet.:thumbsup:
mjbradeis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:57 PM   #7
Polecat
Full Access Member
 
Polecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stillwater, OK
Posts: 537
Polecat is on a distinguished road
Default

wow...just bought a 2003 Yukon, same thing, was driving back from Arkansas and looked down adn it read 120 MPH! I was freaking!

got to a stoip, and it said 50 MPH...after a couple days, it went back to normal. This has happened twice now too...lucky it has a warranty.:shhh:
Polecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



 
Advertisement

Other Sponsors






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All rights reserved and copyrighted
Fully Driven Auto Network
GM Truck Forum
Ford Raptor Forum
Dodge Ram Forum
Chevy Cobalt Forum
Chevy Camaro Forum
FJ Cruiser Forum
Ford Truck Forum
88-98 GM Truck Forum
73-87 Gm Truck Forum
Ford Expedition Forum
Chevy Equinox Forum
Chevy Cruze Forum
Jeep Liberty Forum
Jeep Forum
Dodge Ram SRT10 Forum
Chrysler 200 Forum
Scion xD Forum
Scion xB Forum
Dodge Challenger Forum
SRT Forum
Nissan Titan Forum
Buick Enclave Forum
Cadillac Forum
Cadillac XTS Forum
TRD Forum
Central US Mopars
Southeast Mopars
Cadillac CTS Forum
Oklahoma Dodge Ram Club
Softball Forum