99 Tahoe Brake lights problem

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gibsoup

Reaction score
Hi,

I have a 99 Tahoe that has a strange problem. When I Press the brakes the Brakelights come on and go off again. If I apply them slowly, they stay on for a longer time, but they still go off. I have checked the fuses, and replaced the Brakelight Switch on the Pedal.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Tim

treepete

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.:patriot:

Sounds like maybe something is heating up and when warm causing an open condition.

can you check all the bulbs to make sure they arent failing, also the bulb connections?
finally, perhaps check the PCBs that are in your taillight assembly, mine got water/ moisture inside them and corroded the PCB.

I'm no expert, but its a start. Others in this forum will help out more than I can.

gibsoup

Reaction score
Thanks, I just checked them and they look fine, no moisture or anything.

I also noticed that if i hold the brake pedal with my foot lightly, the lights will stay on (but not really braking). If I press down on the pedal all the way, they go out (both brake lights & highmounted).

I'm no expert but it sounds like something needs adjusting.

Hardwarz

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Sounds like the brake light switch.

You can try replacing that, but on my 1999, it was a pain in the ass to get to. I didn't even replace mine, I just had to hook up the remote start brake kill switch.

Hardwarz

Slammed

Full Access Member
Reaction score
He allready replaced that he said in his post ... it sounds like you might have a bigger problem and you shold have the dealer or a nechanic check it out

Sounds like the brake light switch.