How To Install Hoe-puter

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

erosa713

Reaction score
hi im new to the car pc world but not new to getting my hands dirty lol ok so since this project started out as a " what the heck im board " project to a " what the heck did i get myself into" project lol , ok people this is what u call a custom car-pc install on a budjet lol , i had a old slim dell desktop pc on my shelf just dying so i decided to throw it my my tahoe but where was a big problem because i wanted it to look nice not just lying around somewhere so i started ripping my poor baby apart and found a nice lil spot for my pc where the factory sub woofer is , and since i dont use that speaker , it was perfect spot to begin , so i removed the speaker and cut the face of the enclosure to fit my pc ( remember im on a budjet people its a desktop pc) lol
View attachment 5702
View attachment 5703
car-pc_033.jpg
car-pc_034.jpg
ok so since i put the pc in da back of the truck i had to make some kind of an extension for the turn on button so i ran some cat-5 cable and desolder and solder the power on button and at the same time of my pc install i removed some junk that came with the truck like the factory amp and on-star unit lol so i decided it would be cool if i turn my on-star button into my pc turn on button lol
car-pc_012.jpg
car-pc_014.jpg
REMEMBER PEOPLE THIS IS A BUDGET INSTALL LOL
SO NOW IT WAS TIME FOR THE TEST ........ BAM EVERYTHING TURNED ON ( VERY HAPPY MOMENT FOR ME PEOPLE LOL ) NOW IT WAS TIME TO PUT MY BABY BACK TOGETHER AGAIN , SO RIGHT NOW IM IN THE PROCESS OF TWEAKIN THE PC LIKE GET A FRONT END, GPS, ETC ETC . IF YOU HAVE ANY INPUT I WILL REALLY APPRECIATE IT ... I WOULDVE PUT UP MORE PICS BUT I CAN ONLY POST UP 5 AT A TIME FOR SOME REASON LOL HERES HOW IT LOOKS AT 90% DONE
car-pc_035.jpg