Newbie needs tips for McGaughy's 3/5 install

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Grocery Getter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I'm brand new to the forums and have been having a good time working on my 04' Tahoe. I've been knocking out the easy stuff so far mostly cosmetic but now it's time to get to the performance mods and the first thing is the drop. I am going to install the McGaughy's 3''/5'' kit next weekend and was hoping to get as many tips as possible so not to screw it up. My brother in law is going to help me out because I have very little experience with stuff like this and he is a pit mechanic for a porsche racing team. While he is very knowledgeable overall domestic trucks aren't exactly his forte and I was hoping I could get as much input as possible before we get into it next week. So, any tips, suggestions, "be careful not to"s you have PLEASE share them. I look forward to reading your tips.

Grocery Getter

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Done!

Well, we did it and it it wicked good. My brother-in-law and I installed McGaughy's 3''/5'' kit yesterday and it was a breeze. It did take us a little under 8 hrs but that is because neither of us had done it before and we were working with pretty basic tools and off jack stands instead of a lift. After we did the first front spindle and torsion key it went pretty quick. We got it all figured out on the first wheel so I could tear down the second while he put the first one back together. All in all it was a piece of cake just time consuming. The rear was not hard but kind of a pain in the ass, the kit did not come with instructions for the rear and it was unclear which hardware to use. They just gave us a bag of hardware, two springs, control arm relocators, and sway bar linkage...... we figured it out though.