Newbie question - "1" & "2" fobs on 2004 XL

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Maybe

Reaction score
Just picked up a 2004 Yukon XL SLT on Saturday. (Woohoo!) First Tahoe type vehicle in the family, so I'm a total noob. Hope I'm not asking a terribly stupid question. I have read the owner's manual, and skimmed through the forums for a few days.

This is a Canadian truck, bought from an Ontario GM dealer as a "GM Optimum" used vehicle. I dunno what the 150 point inspection checklist is about, because several items on it were totally ignored. Oil overfilled by about a litre, piles of leaves in the air filter housing, interior door light/lens totally missing...I'm talking "obvious to a girl" stuff here. Soooo....I'm looking for outside information to doublecheck their stories from here on out.

What I could really use some guidance on right now is the subject of key fobs and the truck's "1" and "2" memories. The truck was traded in with 1 key and 1 fob. Pretty unremarkable looking: open padlock button, closed padlock button, red bugle button. No writing anywhere on it other than 3 lines on the back side of the housing:

GM 219997127
CANADA 109G 12021
MODEL/FCCID LHJ011

There was supposed to be a second fob/key ready and waiting for us at the vehicle's arranged delivery time, but that didn't happen. They did cut a new key while we waited, but a fob was a problem. The salesman dug out a junk drawer type box of mixed used fobs, and said we'd have to look through to find one with 12021 on the back. Then they couldn't program it for me because nobody technical works on Saturday. I'd have to take it to their other branch closer to home for programming during the week. No, I couldn't program it myself, it requires some spiffy computer to be plugged in by factory trained men.