Running amp power wire

Discussion in 'Audio, Video and Alarm Discussions' started by jnicks01, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. jnicks01

    jnicks01 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    I am going to install a new amplified sub in the rear cargo area against the back seats. I'm not sure of the best place to run the power supply cable through the firewall. Any suggestions? Easist place prefered, but I want to do it right though too. I'd like NOT to have to take too much of my dash apart.
     
  2. 1999HOE

    1999HOE Full Access Member

    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    i ran my power wire drive3rs side and my rca and remote passenger side to prevent interference i drilled a hole right behing the brake pedal ull notice a hole for some wires i just popped one next to it and was good to go....
     
  3. CHEVYMANE

    CHEVYMANE New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    OH-IO
    I Ran Mine Behind/under The Coolant Bottle. You'll See A Grommet There & Just Remove The Kick Panel & Run It. Battery Is On That Side Anyway So It Will Save Some Wire & Time Hiding It.
     
  4. jnicks01

    jnicks01 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    that grommet was perfect!!! Thanks
     
  5. sweetjeeps

    sweetjeeps New Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    find the main grommet in the firewall and put a little slice in it and push the wire through. Just be careful of the harness, its really expensive.
     
  6. treepete

    treepete Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Genesee Twp, WI
    I just tried this a few minutes ago. The grommet behind the coolant recovery tank is the best. It was super easy and THANKS FOR THE HELP!!!!! :)
     
  7. drucifer

    drucifer New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Sweet! I'll be installing my subwoofer soon, and had occasionally been rooting around inside and out for an existing hole. For some reason I found myself eyeing that coolant bottle several times and wondering. Now I know! Thanks!
     
  8. GMCYukalade

    GMCYukalade Full Access Member

    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    I don't know what year model you are talking about, and i don't know if there is any differance, but on the drivers side, fuse panel under the hood, there is an ACC spot you can put the amp wire right on it.. the battery runs right too it... real easy - also don't know about year model diff.. but my 99 had a second battery tray on the drivers side real easy install of 2nd batt..
     
  9. CHEVYMANE

    CHEVYMANE New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Dig that. Since i ran 0 gauge hot wire i wanted to run that large of a wire
    seperate from everything else. That left me running the rest of the spaghetti
    under the driver's side with the rest of the vehicle harness but it saved me at least 5 feet in 0 gauge hot wire. That acc terminal under the hood is cool but ain't wanna piss any components off crankin the noise. 99 Tahoe. I have the
    2nd battery tray also. Like the night view of the Yuk.
     
  10. GMCYukalade

    GMCYukalade Full Access Member

    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    This is my Dual Batt.. 1600 CCA 2000 CA, - that Blue circle there is my Amp Power Wire Fuse
     

    Attached Files:

  11. qlc1964

    qlc1964 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    st.louis mo.
    :D lucky you!!!! i had to relocate the evap can and made the brackets
    and bought the bat tray at the dealer it cost $30.00 to get it done and a whole saturday.
     
  12. qlc1964

    qlc1964 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    st.louis mo.
    oh!! look in technical write ups&installation guides (big 3 wiring up grade)
    i got a pic of it
     
  13. TrailFiend

    TrailFiend New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    2 door

    will this work on the 2 door models? i have a 99' and im having some people put in my system for me this time, and want to tell them where the best spot is to run the amp power wire. thanks.
     
  14. treepete

    treepete Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Genesee Twp, WI
    I think if you check under your coolant bottle, and you have that grommet there, you should ask your installer to use it if possible. I mean, the installer is the one who has to actually DO the work, and maybe he would appriciate a the tip if it make his install easier.

    What sealed the deal for me using that side was that the battery is already right there, and I wanted the amp power separated from the RCAs to the amp. So, amp power and remote turn on wire on the passenger side, and RCAs on the drivers side.
    Hopefully it works for you whichever way you chose, and you like your new audio gear.

    Pete
     
  15. treepete

    treepete Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Genesee Twp, WI
    This is an old pic I had of my 99 yukon engine bay.
    I know the coolant bottle is still attached, but look anyway, and IMAGINE its gone.

    if you remove those 2 bolts, and see a black wire, follow it to the rubbery grommet on the firewall. Make a little slit in it with a knife, and you should be able to pass your ampwire thru to the passenger floor area, then into the kick panl and back. Hope that helps.

    The blue wire is sposta represent the fused power wire.

    Pete
     

    Attached Files:

  16. TrailFiend

    TrailFiend New Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    thanks!

    ill be checking that in a few. im hoping i have the grommet.
     
  17. Hardwarz

    Hardwarz Full Access Member

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    I removed my coolant tank looking for the grommet on my 99 Tahoe 4 door 4x4. Here's what I found:

    [​IMG]

    Ok. so where do I take the power wire to? (it's a 4 gauge wire)

    Hardwarz
     
  18. treepete

    treepete Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Genesee Twp, WI
    awesome., you have the grommet.

    ok take the wire and run it to the dist block by the radiator cap(or the battery itself). put a fuse inline to protect your investment.
     
  19. Hardwarz

    Hardwarz Full Access Member

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio

    If the grommet that you're speaking of is the one that the wire is going through, my 4 gauge wire won't fit in there. My wire is too big to fit in there. Looks like I'm going to have to drill.

    But the grommet will work for the fog lights and the hood pin switch (remote start).

    Hardwarz
     
  20. treepete

    treepete Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Genesee Twp, WI
    man, I didnt think of that. I ran 8 ga thru there.
    umm yeah, if you drill thru that general area near the grommet, the cool part is that it dump right onto the floor in the passesger seat area. then run it thru the kick panel and your good to go.