'99 Tahoe 4x4 Issues related to maintenance of ball joints

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

fullm3taljacket

Reaction score
Alright, a little background...I am not a mechanic and never will be. I have done some research both here and the sister site (Tahoe Yukon Forum) where this will be posted as well, verbatim.

After an 800 mile trip, I had an oil change done to my '99 Tahoe and discovered that the boots were split on my upper ball joints. I was told that this was an $1100 job in total with upper and lower ball joints needing to be replaced, along with the pitman and idler arms being replaced.

So, I feel as though I'm being taken advantage of, as we never looked at the lower ball joints (if there are even lower ball joints, I honestly don't know) and the mechanic tells me about the arms needing to be replaced, but never discussed it at the time of the inspection.

Figuring this forum has an objective point of view, I have a few questions:

First, do you think I rightly feel taken advantage of, or could there be more to the mechanic's concerns with the arms and lower ball joints even though he never discussed them with me then and there?

Second, it is my impression after reading these forums that perhaps I should just grease the joints more regularly and not worry about them too much for some time, would you agree with this?

Third, because the engineers decided in their infinite wisdom to rivet the joints in, this is why the cost for this maintenance is so much (labor). What is the general impression of a reasonable price to have this work done?

Any additional insights are more than welcome and thank you in advance!

-Max

lesterl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ball joints are a PITA, but not $1100 PITA.