Newbie and what should I be looking for?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

GeorgeB

Reaction score
Good afternoon all. A Brit newbie here who's just moved to the Phillipines after 5 years in Malaysia.

To keep things short, I'm looking at buying my first US vehicle, a Tahoe, after noticing them here. This, after many, many years of Land/Range Rover ownership.

I quite enjoy spannering (with an LR, you've got to, and over the years I've tackled most things) and as I live near the office - and my local bar, I don't need a daily yet, so I can spend a bit of time on an older one getting it reliable for that inevitable road trip around the Phils. I do love a good road trip :waytogo:

Anyway, I'm going to look at a 1997, 5.7, 4x4 on Saturday morning and what I'm looking for are pointers as to the bad bits that are Tahoe specific? It's not silly money, so I don't mind spending later, but would rather know the weak points now, before I hand over my hard earned cash for a dog. What can I live with, and what should make me walk away? My understanding is that parts supply isn't bad here.

Any tips or advice would be very welcome and I look forward to smoking around with a nice Chevy small block in front of me!

Thanks in advance,

George.

Tex99Tahoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum, GeorgeB. Hope that `97 is a good one.

I'm not heavily experienced with these, still learning about my `99, but one thing I've noticed is that these things normally run so reliably that owners slide into 'negligance' land, fluids get low/old, or never changed. There was a comment that Chevy neglected to include diff fluid change intervals in the owner's manuals, leading to diff problems like I had.