POS brakes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

slingblade

Reaction score
we all know that the brakes on the OBS are crap, but I really need to improve them in some way. Although I am not a wrench-head by trade I am mechanically inclined.I do not want to mow grass by lowering, or drive my hoe on a road courseI. have mild custom mods. I just want to have some confidence in my stopping. I have new front pads, and new shoes. What else can be done to improve them. My pedal travel is excessive and it is not firm. I am open to upgrading suggestions as long as I don't have to mortage the house or improving but not unless I get a noticeable seat of the pants difference. Oh yeah I have OEM wheels and Michelins. Not a custom ride just a good all around grocery getter. She has about 150K on her. Thanks to all who offer to help out.

Kontohoe

Reaction score
I had the same problem on my '98 Yukon and on my '99 Tahoe. Took it to my mechanic, put on new shoes and pads (semi-metallic) and had him drain and put in new brake fluid and then bled them. Cost me about $500 (time consuming) but made a HUGE difference. He also adjusted the rear brakes a "few clicks" as too actually use the rear brakes as these beasts mainly use the front brakes to stop. He wanted to know if I wanted to put on ceramic pads but I didn't know enough about them at the time and need to do some research on them or ask on this forum. You wouldn't happen to know anything about ceramics, would you?

blk87brd

Full Access Member
Reaction score