Towing (for the 1000th time I am sure)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

GoofyPilot

Reaction score
Ok....so I am looking for some idea (as I am not a big mechanical mind in reference to auto engines/transmissions, etc. Now, you have 2 Tahoes...both identical exception being the K5L heavy duty towing package. So, to verify, the only difference here is 3.08 vs. 3.42 with factory external transmission and oil cooling, yes. That being said, any issues relating to towing near to max weight on the 3.08 nothing special Tahoe are not safety related (at least as far as braking, stability, the chassis, etc). Towing problems/ issues should only be related to wear and tear and performance (which I see could have some safety implications if merging, etc), right? I start with all of this because I want to try to focus on the performance and engine/transmission considerations of the equation. I am not looking for someone to say, "Hey, it's just fine." in order to satisfy me. Rather, I would like a frank discussion or explantion of what I would experience and expect performance wise if trying to tow long distance a right up to max towing and GCWR. Would hills be at 45 MPH? Will the truck throw itself apart? I would love to be on the other side with the 3.42 and stuff, but the reality is I will be in the 3.08 with an aftermarket tranny cooler. So, there it is...have fun reading me the act (but preferably edumacating me).

jmeyers278

Reaction score