How do I program Home-Link?? Need Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Lowboy44

Reaction score
I just bought an 01 Tahoe and would like to program the Home-Link.
Any help would greatly be apreciated

RenegadeTahoe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just bought an 01 Tahoe and would like to program the Home-Link.
Any help would greatly be apreciated

What brand of garage door opener do you have? How old is it? Can you see a model number? I was a garage door installer / technician for 6 years... I've programmed many of these.

If you don't have a manual, basically, you start by clearing out the codes (I believe you hold the first and third buttons for like 20-30 seconds simultaneously.)

Then, you program the button you want to use. To do this:
1. Press and hold the button you want to use on the home-link. The light should start flashing.
2. Press the button on your garage door opener. The light will flash fast, then go out (I believe... it's been a few years, excuse my mistakes)
3. If you have a non-rolling code opener, your homelink should now operate your garage door. If you have a rolling-code opener (Genie Intellicode, Liftmaster / Chamberlain / Craftsman Security+ and billion code) you will have to program your homelink to your opener. To do that, you press the "Learn button" on the garage door opener (Liftmaster = Green / Purple / Orange button, Genie = black / purple button) then...

For Genie ... go to your homelink and press the button 3 times. The garage door should operate on the 3rd time.

For Liftmaster / Chamberlain / Craftsman - press and hold the button until the lights on the opener flash. Press the button again and the door should operate. :thumbsup:

tybardy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
renegade is so nice! i would have just told you to read your owners manual as it walks you through it step by step