Running amp power wire

Discussion in 'Audio, Video and Alarm Discussions' started by jnicks01, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. Hardwarz

    Hardwarz Full Access Member

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sweet, that's the exact info that I needed.

    Hardwarz
     
  2. YukonMud

    YukonMud Full Access Member

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Location:
    Washington
    I would recommend drilling from within the cab, it will insure you get the exact placement that you are looking for.

    I will have to take a look at mine, I found an existing grommet in my firewall that fits 0 guage.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2008
  3. Hardwarz

    Hardwarz Full Access Member

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio

    Oooohhhh!!! Where?!?!

    Hardwarz
     
  4. qlc1964

    qlc1964 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    st.louis mo.
    this is a pics where i drilled for my power wire and a water tight electical
    connector i got at home depot $3.00.i had to get under the yukon
    so you can see where it is. it`s on the driver side a little below

    the steering wheel boot. oh and a pic of the dash
     

    Attached Files:

    • 042.JPG
      042.JPG
      File size:
      127.2 KB
      Views:
      31
    • 043.JPG
      043.JPG
      File size:
      80.4 KB
      Views:
      28
    • 039.JPG
      039.JPG
      File size:
      115.5 KB
      Views:
      32
  5. Hardwarz

    Hardwarz Full Access Member

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have a factory CD player where you have that pocket. Is that a factory pocket?

    Where you drilled the wire, where did it come out at in the interior? By the gas pedal?

    Hardwarz
     
  6. treepete

    treepete Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Location:
    Genesee Twp, WI
    yeah thats the factory CD delete pocket.
    I got mine from the dealership, and it was 17.99$. it slides right in perfectly. and is quite deep. I like it.
     
  7. qlc1964

    qlc1964 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Location:
    st.louis mo.
    nah it comes under the steering wheel boot on the fire wall. i will do a pick

    of it. i just have to take the carpet up out the way.

    and the map pocket i got it out of the junk yard free i put it my
    pants. as you can see it's very useful.
     
  8. jwpotts0413

    jwpotts0413 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    i see those cd pockets on ebay for pretty cheap too
     
  9. YukonMud

    YukonMud Full Access Member

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Location:
    Washington

    I was not able to take a picture, but I did look at where it was run. I too ran it under the radiator reserve tank through an existing grommet.
     
  10. jnicks01

    jnicks01 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    just got a cd delete pocket. $20 with shipping included. Link...

    http://www.escstores.biz/88003302.html

    Glad i got this!!! No more cell phone sliding off my center councel onto the floor
     
  11. GMCYukalade

    GMCYukalade Full Access Member

    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    NC
    You could have saved yourself a few bux.. and had it today or tomm. if you would have went to the Parts dept. at your local dealership.. they should have them in Stock..

    I got mine from the dealership - i belive it was about the same price treepete got his for
     
  12. Biggwaukegan

    Biggwaukegan Full Access Member

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    how hard is it to run the dual batteries bro? whats involved? send me a pm and tell me how to get this done. I have a 97 with the extra battery holder in place but no wiring. Thanks
     
  13. YukonMud

    YukonMud Full Access Member

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Location:
    Washington
    I would love to know the same too!
     
  14. 96ProCompTahoe

    96ProCompTahoe Full Access Member

    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    me 2! i need to remember to pick up the second battery tray next time im at the junk yard though. i have the storage box right now.
     
  15. boostaholic

    boostaholic Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Denver
    You just need to run an isolator and wire them up together
    [​IMG]
    JK posted a thread for the nbs trucks but the same principle applies
    http://www.tahoeforum.com/showthread.php?t=2321
    I rewired all the power leads and grounds (big3) and never had any issue running 1400wrms in my limited. 1/0 for all the underhood stuff and 2awg to all three amps and the lights wouldn't dim even when I had it turned up like an idiot. I also noticed an increase in mileage (20mi/tank) after all the new wiring underhood. Found a writeup for the obs trucks too
    http://images.google.com/imgres?img...1&prev=/images?q=dual+battery&um=1&hl=en&sa=G
    You won't need the extra battery unless you're over 1500w constant load, otherwise I think the big 3 and a yellowtop will do just fine.
     
  16. thefett

    thefett New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Thanks...

    just found this forum and installed a set of subs in my 99 yukon
    thanks for the info everyone.
     
  17. Fresh24Seven

    Fresh24Seven New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Installing my power wire right and I wanted to check the forum first to see where everyone was running their wire, whats this big 3 you speak of sir? TIA
     
  18. JeffreyBer

    JeffreyBer Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 3, 2020