Suburban 2004 - Bose Amp Connectivity With Aftermarket Head Unit

Discussion in 'Audio, Video and Alarm Discussions' started by Gibraltar, Aug 19, 2015.

  1. Gibraltar

    Gibraltar New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    I am postinh this here because there's no Audio sub-section in the Suburban forum, and audio systems are the same in Tahoe or Suburban.

    I have a 2004 Chevy Suburban LT.
    The RPO code is UQ7 which I presume has Factory Head Unit with AM/FM Radio, 6-CD changer and a Premium (non-Luxury) Amplifier, without On-star, without Rear DVD.
    I've already bought a replacement Head Unit, Alpine CDE-W235EBT. I've ordered the PAC-Audio RP4-GM11 kit which includes Radio replacement & steering wheel accessories.
    The CDE-W235EBT has 4x50W speaker outputs and single output pair only of sub-woofer or pre-amp audio.

    Here are my questions:-
    1. Can I directly path the new HU speaker outputs to the Bose Amp using RP4-GM11. Will doing this risk damaging the input of the Bose Amp or cause clipping of Audio.
    (If yes, I've also ordered 2 pieces of PAC-Audio SNI-35 Variable LOC Line Out Converter. But I want to avoid using them).

    2. Does my UQ7 w/o Y91 Premium Bose Amp have sub-woofer inputs. Can I take advantage of the single pair pre-amp outputs from my new Alpine HU to connect to that input.

    And I appreciate everyone's advise to trash my Bose Amp. But for now I need to feed my kids so I'll hold on to the factory amp.
     
  2. guys04tahoe

    guys04tahoe New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    gm11 is the right kit, just look on the box and it will have spots to plug into the harness on one of them it says with factory amp and the other without amp, just plug and play.... all you have to do is hire the new head unit to the right set of wires and everything is plug and play, pretty nice setup... took me an hour and works well
     
  3. Gmcferon

    Gmcferon New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Location:
    Florida
    Analog or Digital Amp Bose

    In replacing a new head unit I installed an AXXESS AX-GMLAN29-SWC It asks if the Amp is Digital or Analog. So....is the Bose Amp a Digital or Analog?

    Thanks in advance for any information.